A Soldier Story or 2

This story was originally sent to me, "author unknown," by MountainWings.  I have been a subscriber to www.MountainWings.com for years.  My understanding is that MountainWings is operated by a pastor in Atlanta.  Every day he sends some inspirational story that may be scriptural.  You may subscribe by going to www.MountainWings.com and saying you want it.  The original title of this story is "The Rose."
 
I was a soldier once, so when I saw this, I kinda related to it.  I am also familiar with the concept of Meeting Real People that you Find in the Internet, so I kinda related to it there too. 
 
     James was a highly respected officer in the army. In his spare
     time, he liked to surf the net and talk to new people online.

     He had been talking to a woman for some time now and had a sort
     of internet relationship with her. He had actually fallen in
     love with her. The only problem was that any time he asked her
     about sending a picture her response was "if you love me this
     much then what I look like doesn’t matter."

     So he agreed and let it go.

     Later, even without seeing her but only knowing her personality
     and how loving and caring she was, he asked her to marry him,

 
"Dude!  What are you thinking??"
 
     to which she answered yes. They decided to meet at a train station
     for the first time and she told him that she would be wearing a
     red rose so that he would know who she was.

     Well the time came and James stood there in his full officers
     uniform waiting ever so anxiously for her to come off of the
     train.

     Then he looked over to see a tall blonde with a short cut dress,
     nice legs, long hair waving back and forth in the wind and the
     most beautiful eyes he had ever seen. He couldn’t believe his
     eyes. . .

 
"Dude!  This is your dream come true, isn’t it?  Rose or no rose."
 

     . . .then from behind her appeared an older heavyset woman
     wearing a red rose.

     As the beautiful woman walked by she asked, "Goin my way
     soldier?" but James, as if he didn’t even hear her, just turned
     around standing at attention with tears of joy in his eyes and
     looking at the older woman and said,

"Dude!  I’d be crying too.  You already promised you’d marry the one with the rose."

     "It’s a pleasure to finally meet you," to which the older lady
     said, "I don’t know why but that lady that just walked by told me
     to wear this and if you came to me to tell you to meet her in
     the restaurant across the street."

"Dude.  What just happened here?"

     That is the way most of our lives are. The decisions we make
     can change our lives. If you make the wrong choice you could
     end up empty-handed but choosing the right way, even though it
     may be the harder way, will work out always in the end.

     We all have at least two choices to make,
     the right one and the wrong one.

     Which one will you make?

Well, let me esplain somethin to you, Lucy.  The guy was a soldier, and he was told to look for the rose.  So that’s what he did.  He followed his orders, apparently without batting an eye.  That’s what she wanted to know he would do.  It was a test.  She was testing him.  But get this, she’d already said she’d marry him.  So that was her way out, if he blew off the old lady with the rose, she’d have disappeared out of his life, maybe forever, but later they’d get back on line and she’d have to explain where she screwed up at the train station and then HE’D know something, I guess, I don’t know. 

The part we might be missing here is how well she got to know him on line.  Maybe she just knew he’d look for the rose, even when she walked by all foxed up like that, but she wanted to be sure.  I don’t know.  I imagine the story has a happy ending.  Some day she will tell her grandchildren this story about how she met this wonderful man for the first time, while he’s outside under his pickup truck taking care of something she don’t have the slightest idea what it is, but he doesn’t want her to be stranded at the mall so he’s fixing it now while she’s in there telling the grandkids stories about the good old days. 

I just remember the girl I liked when I was a soldier.  We didn’t have the internet.  We wrote letters.  We met in person about a year before I enlisted.  I remember she was wearing feather earrings and moccasin boots, and boy she was cute.  But before I enlisted, she went back home.  She was out of money and the carnival had left town. 

I drove up to visit her twice when I was in the Army.  We really did send each other letters back then.  I have no idea where those letters are now.  She came to visit me once after I got out and went back to school, and that’s how I broke in my VISA card.  As the years went by she took many opportunities to have careers and travel the world, instead of workin’ it out with me. 

She took one of those opportunities to be a flight attendant, did it with a pilot, got pregnant and married him, and he was not a nice man.  Some years after the divorce she finally showed up here, working, wearing all her careers and battle scars… it’s like so much had happened to the girl with the feather earrings and moccasin boots, without my participation, that I had a little trouble recognizing her. 

Now I’m sure what I was supposed to do was feel the same way about her then, as I did back when I first met her and I was in the Army.  But time was short, she was working, only staying one night, and she was particularly argumentative. 

No rose. 

About comdude

"engineer"
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

